What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

N. ampullaria care

Recently I acquired an ampullaria 'like twist' from a friend. I'm new to cp's and also live in a crowded apartment. Is this a variety of nepenthes that could do well in a sunny windowsill? In the winter my house is in the high 60s during the day and mid 60s at night. My research indicates that amps like it warm all year round. If it needs a more tailored environment, what kind of equipment would I need?

you have a lowland nepenthes.

think it is called lime twist.

generally speaking they prefer low light, VERY high humidity, and heat. 60's sounds a bit chilly........it will survive but not for an extended period of time......also it may affect growth. mine are 85-90 during the day and 80 at night as a reference.

equipment will consist of large aquarium/terrarium/build your own grow chamber, humidifier, heat source and light source bare minimum. another part of the double edged sword is once you make the thing happy it will grow very fast and it will get big.

not trying to discourage...it is a nice looking plant, a very rewarding plant but will need space at some point. to give an example a similar one to yours started off making 4 inch leaves stem to tip......10 months later 9-12 inch leaves. went from 2 inch square to a 2 foot square in less than a year.

i will provide more information later.....sleepy.

Thanks for the info cpbobby! I had a feeling that my apartment conditins would not be sufficient. I took this plant as a rescue with the knowledge that it may need more care than I am interested in providing :(. How does one regulate temps in a terrarium? Either I'm goin to have to get some equipment to accommodate this plant or use this plant to trade...