What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Recut This Cutting?

CorneliusSchrute

A leuco by any other name would still be as glutto
I received this N. Miranda cutting during the summer and it has made slow but steady progress since I potted it in living sphagnum upon arrival. I realize now, with this being my first cutting, that I should have cut it down to a few nodes instead of leaving it full length. Since it is making new leaves would it be more help or harm to recut the thing to the freshest nodes and repot again in live sphagnum?

I am a noob and apologize for my noobishness.

c4adb0da9454c359e7219b44d017c49a_zps43918f6e.jpg

Personally, as long as it is doing well as is, I would leave it alone for a while. In my experience with Neps, the more you mess with them, the more that can go wrong. There are far more people with far more experience that may have better suggestions though. It looks healthy and I see nothing to worry about.

If you tug *gently* at the stem, do you feel resistance? This could be a good sign that it has rooted and you don't have to worry. If it comes right out, (with roots either being too small to grip the media, or simply nonexistent) then recutting it might be an option. When I do cuttings, I tend to make the stem on the short side. I feel like getting the growth point closer to the high-humidity environment that is around the media helps reduce stress.