What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Damage from cold, disease or otherwise?

I've noticed some spots on a few of my plants recently, and given that I've had no experience with pests so far (knocks on wood) I'm not sure what to make of this. Here's a leaf on my N. burbidgeae x robcantleyi, the spots near the edge have appeared in the last two weeks:
4r1si9ll.jpg

The other concern is a glandulifera I got last month, here's a picture of it after potting:
nNuXDVol.jpg

It's been growing without a hitch, but those two leaves look concerning.
va45yEGl.jpg

Cold damage has crossed my mind (nights have recently hit ~5-8 C) but I didn't think cold damage looked like that. I also have a rafflesiana x ampullaria that's doing just fine with nothing like this at all.

Thoughts on what it is? I may have to hold off on new plants for a while until this gets sorted...

Looks like it could possibly be the Cercospora fungus common to many Nepenthes. You can treat with systemic fungicides, if this turns out to be the case.

Last edited:
Thanks for the pointer, further research brings up similar pictures and seems to say that it's present on most neps but is only really an issue if the plant is stressed. Huh, reminds me a bit of golden staph.

If it is Cercospora then the glandulifera is easily explained since it's probably still acclimatising, time to reevaluate the burbidgeae x robcantleyi's happiness though. Maybe it's just proximity to the glandulifera, although there's a chaniana between them with no symptoms. Systemic fungicide recommendations seem to be something with thiophanate methyl or propiconazole, will go shopping tomorrow to see what's available locally.