What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

I've been experimenting with growing Nepenthes hydroponically since March 2015, so for about a year and a half now. I'd like to share my results in this thread, and then give some details about my method. Thanks to TF member knuckles for sharing with me his experiences growing Nepenthes hydroponically at the start of my experiment.

So why grow Nepenthes hydroponically? A few reasons:

1. Some of you may know that I've been interested in growing Nepenthes in inorganic media to avoid repotting. In my experience, Nepenthes don't like repotting, and it's a very difficult task with large plants. Since some inorganic media theoretically never decompose, repotting is no longer necessary.

2. Automation. Having a system that waters my plants for me is a huge time saver. Since I do not have a greenhouse and do not grow outdoors, I can't rely on misters. A drip irrigation system fits my circumstances best.

Anyway, some before and after photos should give an idea of how the experiment went. NB: My photos below may be used & reproduced for any non-commercial purposes whatsoever. Attribution appreciated but not required. Click any of the photos below for full-sized versions on Flickr.

N. Hopeful Monsters (open-pollinated merrilliana hybrid).

2015-03-29: Growing in rockwool cubes prior to transplant:

2015-06-22: three months later, after hydroponics, in the same pot. Decent amount of growth.

Roots before (left) and after (right):

N. splendiana x Redneck

2015-04-22: Growing in 3.5" / 9 cm pot before transplant, in rockwool cubes.