What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Help me save this nepenthes!

I am a complete beginner with Nepenthes so I only know a little bit of how to care for them so please share your wisdom.

So, last week I saw a large viney Nepenthes in a corner of a small flower shop. It was super dry and looked really sad. I asked how much it was and the lady gave it to me for free. As soon as I got home I took a proper peak in the pot. There were two mature plants and two basils. I cut up the vines and stuck them in some soil. I didn't want to throw them away, but since they were super dry I didn't spend much time on them. I potted the four plants in a 50-50 coconut coir/perlite mix which was all I had available and watered them thoroughly before placing them under a LED grow light in my kitchen. Both the mature plants have tiny buds on several nodes and one has a larger shoot on the top. I am not sure if the buds appeared before or after I repotted them. I placed the basils together in a small pot. Both have tiny, unsuccessful pitchers and several tendrils on the way, again I am not sure how much of that was already there when I got it. I spray the tendrils with water a few times a day which I saw on youtube could help if the humidity levels are not great. I am planning on buying a small indoor greenhouse to put them in to give them the right humidity.

If I am doing something wrong or you have suggestions for what I should do please let me know. I'm including some pictures.

Dropbox - Nepenthes project