What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Brown spots on leaves of N. bicalcarata

Hi, everyone

As I said in the earlier introduction, I'm new to carnivorous plants and right now I'm putting my effort to raise my N. bicalcarata to new heights.
But it seems my journey won't be as smooth as ideally perceived to be. There are brown spots appearing on my N. bicalcarata leaves.

Imgur: The most awesome images on the Internet

I used 70% cocopeat and around 30% sphagnum moss for the growing medium. Back then I was uninformed that I didn't soak the cocopeat in pure water before applying it as a growing medium. I'm thinking of replacing it with new medium, cocopeat which I am currently soak and drain everyday using water from air conditioner condensation. But, I am kind of reluctant to repot the plant which will set back the plant a bit and currently the plant have one healthy pitcher.

I also suspect mites or thrips but I'm still not sure which pesticide should I pick. There are white objects around the stem of the unhealthy leaves which I suspect the work of mites. Pic below is probably a candid photograph of the culprit.

Imgur: The most awesome images on the Internet

Aside from all the problems above, the plant is growing rather nicely, new growing bud has formed and it's separating from one of the leaves' bone at the moment and new leaf is very healthy without defect. Shame that the leaf posted above used to be healthy also but I think just recently it caught the brown spots.

I hope you guys can give me a solution which I can follow to protect my plant :awesome:

Last edited: