What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Indoors growing setup questions

• Thread starter Azath
  • Start date
Hi everyone, forum newbie here.
I live in the UK, and as the days get shorter I'm considering getting some artificial light for my (currently) lone nepenthes. At the same time I also want to get a cart/ trolley for when I get more plants. I'm very interested to hear if anyone has recommendations for either, especially the lighting. Below is the space I plan to put everything in;

20181024_124051.jpg

And I'm thinking of using something like this, and hanging the lights from the underside of the shelves (60 x 35 x 81cm);

81Hj5rW1jjL._SL1500_.jpg

As for the lighting, I've been researching it, but I am still not clear on it. It seems that generally, LEDs are recommended over fluorescent tubes - is that right? And if so, are the red and blue lights the best, or should the light be white? Of course, energy efficiency and cost are my main considerations.

Finally, since this is the nepenthes forum, here's my wee Burbidgeae x Veitchii BE-3677 that I've had for around 6 months now. Bonus points if anyone can identify the Drosera that came with it - I'm guessing a Capensis.

20181028_122413_resized.jpg

Thanks very much fellow CP enthusiasts!

Shelves and lighting are a good starting point for creating an indoor growspace. LED's don't have any real advantage over floro bulbs in terms of plant health I think. It's mostly that they are more efficient and last longer, making them more cost efficient. Some people use just red and blue but this isn't very pleasing on the eye and all white LEDs seem to work just as well. Your drosera is a capensis.