What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

nepenthes species wanted+ advice needed

hello everybody, I'm quite new to growing nepenthes species, and I don't have any tools which are needed for growing nepenthes and other tropical plants. we have here subtropical climate, and I've grown outside a nepenthes hybrid, but never a pure, rare species. which things are needed to grow these amazing plants (considering rare and hard to grow species), terrarium with led light, greenhouse, etc. what's the best for it? and I'd like to know about more things needed to grow these plants. and I'll add here a species list which are my favourites: rajah, attenboroughii, palawanensis, clipeata and aristolochioides. which one is the easiest to grow? where can I get them, how much should every species cost and which conditions are the best for each one to grow? which one grows the fastest? thank you.

- - - Updated - - -

forgot to say, I'm from israel so worldwide shipping source of plants is needed since we don't have any of these species here.

The main 4 things you need are good water, good media, decent temperatures, and the right amount of sunlight. All the species that you listed except for palawanensisn are really expensive and cost hundreds of dollars(USD). N. palawanensis costs about $60-70(USD) I think palawanensisnis the easiest to grow and to find but I’m not sure. For water it needs to be distilled, reverse-osmosis, or rainwater. For media most people use either pure lfsm(long fibered sphagnum moss) or a 50/50 mix of lfsm and perlite. Light I would do bright indirect light. Use this to see what temperatures it will like https://www.carnivorousplants.co.uk/resources/nepenthes-interactive-guide/