What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

N. gracilis/mirabilis ?

Hello,
I recieved this plant as a gift awhile back, and I'm wondering exactly what species/variety it is.  I'm not a Nepenthes expert by any means, so please help me out if you can.  On one side of the tag it simply reads "N. gracilis".  Simple enough.  However, on the other side of the tag, it reads: "N. Mirabilis "Brunei speckled" ".  

My initial assesment is that this might be a hybrid of some sorts?  Any info would be appreciated.  Here's a pic for you all.
gracilis.jpg

-homer

The pic doesn't show up for me. Hmm. Could you just post a direct link to it? Some home sites don't let you link directly to other web pages.

Capslock

Sorry about that.  Geocities doesn't like the hyperlink access from what I hear.  Here's the updated pic  
wink.gif

-Homer
gracilis.jpg

It's a Gracilis. A very beautiful one though
smile.gif

That's a very interesting form of N. gracilis.
confused.gif
Maybe it's a hybrid between the two names on the tag? Could you get a picture of one of the pitchers if possible? Preferably the front of it.

That is a wonderful plant Homer. I notice that the leaves seem to be reddish. When I placed my N. x Coccinea into a new hot tank (under brighter lights, more heat and more humidity) its leaves began to turn red so I took a bank of lights away. Now I wonder if it was alright that way and I should have left the lights.

Also, I wonder if yours is a Gracilis "nigrapurpurea".

nepenthes gracilis,
I'll have a picture of a front pitcher in just a bit...
Copper,