What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Newbie seeks help

Hello all,

I am a newbie to cp's and have been doing some reading for the past two weeks trying to decide what kind of cps to start with and I think I am hooked on the beauty of the nepenthe ,

I was wondering what you would recommend as " easy" neps for a beginner? and does any one know where one can order or purchase them in Canada?

Thanks in advance for any advice you can offer

I would go with N. ventricosa or a N. ventricosa hybrid like xVentrata (often labelled just N. Ventrata). They are very adaptable and do well on a bright windowsill. Your northerly climate would be the right temperature range also.

Sorry I can't help on the Canadian sources question ;<
Tony

the closest people I know to you gotta be NG and Tony, and they know all about growing stuff up in that place where ice and stuff is on the ground in the winter (strange) so I would definately heed their advice...

I can tell you your biggest obstacle will be warmth and humidity... especially humidity because your heater will rip it right out of the air.

Hey! Where in Canada are you?

I can give you a few websites to get neps off of, but I wouldn't do it this time of year... Its starting to get on the cold side...

If you live in the Hamilton area of ontario, reply ASAP, because I know where you can get some healthy neps... They're at my work, and they JUST came in. Some are in hanging baskets... about ten inch diameteres. I havent got a chance to realy see what kinds they are yet as I only went in there to check my hours, but I'm gin tommorow, and I BETTER get one for myself! Hehhe... There are a few diff kinds...

I am in Toronto, so not too far from Hamilton.