What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

N. tobica

I have a N. Tobica with 3 basal shots and I want to separte them, how do I seprate them? I just repotted the whole plant yesterday,the biggest basal shoot is 3inches acroos, how big do they have to be in order to divide them?
wink.gif

Hi Phil,
I have no experience with N. tobaica but I have removed basal offshoots from a variety of my neps including N. rajah and I rooted a N. macrophylla which arrived in the mail as a nickle sized diameter plant with a brown and shriveled stem where roots should have been I had to remove almost every leaf to get enough good green stalk to plant the N. macro. Now it's growing along just fine. I don't think eps are as extremely fragile as people think, but they do have to have the correct environment.

As long as you have good growing media and proper environment (highland or lowland temps, good light & high humidity) size of the shoot or cutting does not matter. I have even rooted and grown a Nep ventrata from a 2" piece of stalk with no leaves at all on it just the dormant node!

The only things you need to remove the offshoots is a very sharp knife and some rootone. For the knife, a new long thin retractable boxcutter blade is good. If you have them, a forceps and scalpel is even better.The forceps gives a firm gentle hold on the tiny stalks and the scalpel is sharp enough to sever the shoot effortlessly. I preffer the forceps and scalpel because I've smashed a few tiny leaves with my clumsy fingers by removing them without a forceps but the plants were still fine however.