What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Kelvin and lowland nepenthes

Hey guy/gals hows it going.

In the chamber I'm building for low land neps I'm going to be using two 150 watt MH's. They are rated at 6500K. I know the plants will grow fine with that. What my question is what is the optimal kelvin rating for growing lowland nepenthes? Should I go higher? say 10,000k? or lower at like 2000k?

Also I would like to hear some of your guys experiences using different kelvin ratings with nepenthes.

Oh yea sorry for al the questions lately....I'm still learning. I guess you could call me an intermediate (intermediate as in my skill level of growing) grower  
smile.gif

confused.gif

6500k sounds fine to me. Plants use both blue and red wavelengths so you want something balance but a slight shift towards blue is fine since your primarily looking for leafy growth.

Tony

I will say not to use anything like 10,000 K or more because that will be too blue (and dim). The higher the Kelvin rating the Bluer the light. The lower the K rating the yellower the light.

I put a 10,000K into my 400W MH and it seemed like the bulb never fully lit up, it was was very dim. This is groovy for corals who maximize blue light but it was too blue and not very intense at all for plant growing.