What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Need some tips on making my burkei happy.

I recently recieved a three year old burkei neph from that nice fellow who had that contest in the trading forum. Its a real beaut, looks healthy, and has another small one growing as a bonus.

I want to do my absolute best to make sure this plant lives a long healthy life, and being that I'm a complete newbie to plants of this type, I'd like some tips on a few things.

First, while in transit, the mature and active pitchers got mildly squished unfortunately. Nothing severe, but it did cause a few cracks in them that basically destroys their ability to hold fluid of any kind. Will this kind of trauma to the active pitchers cause the plant any lasting harm? Should I just trim them off since they'll eventually die soon anyways from not being able to retain fluid and sustaining some damage?

Second, I've got a new pitcher that's just about ready to open and turn active. There was a large enough hole between the pitcher and the lid to put some water in, so I did that. I'm curious though if I should put some 2% milk in now as well, as some people here recommend, or if I should wait for it to become fully active before doing so.

Third, the size of the plant prevents me from putting it in my small terrarium, and I don't have anything else at the moment to put it in in order to keep it in a super humid environment. I'm misting it quite frequently to make sure the soil is always moist and that the leaves get a good smattering of water to keep it hydrated. Can I just keep doing this, or is it absolutely necessary for it to be in a contained environment with lots of humidity in order to have healthy growth and pitchers?

Fygee,