What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Genlisea

i just got a genlisea, what the care for it, I LOVE IT!!! But... Im new to genlisea so can anybody give me basic care, thank you.
smile.gif

same as terrestrial Utrics. peat/sand mix, high water table, good light. i have a bunch of violacea growing in an 8 inch wide shallow dish that i allow to almost dry out and than soak them really really well and all in it are doing wonder fully. i also have the same species growing where it it never gets anything close to dry and its doing wonderfully. i do believe if you want to see flowers they need really good light though as i never see flower stalks from shaded rossettes.

Mine does far better if I rarely let it dry out much. I go from the plant being 1" under water to where the the soil is still damp visibly wet. It doesn't like to dry at all, the leaves started browning quickly after I let it dry. Mine is G. hispidula, so it could be a difference betwen the 2.. I also grow mine in a deeper pot, its maybe 5" tall.

my hispidula never gets dry. but thats mainly cause ive never had it anywhere but in the same tray as my Utrics. i may have given the wrong impresion. the soil in the violacea dish never gets dry, it just gets alot less wet than the genlisea growing in the trays with my Utrics. it gets dry compared to my terrestrial utrics

I was given both hispidula & violacea this summer. To my surprise, the violacea sent up a flower stalk and before it never opened up. Furthermore, the plant brwoned and died rather suddenly. Why?

Here is some information I put together for genlisea: