What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Seedlings!

YAY!  
smile.gif
 I just sprouted some bladderwort seeds (They were from the ICPS and I don't remember the name.  I'll go check later).  They're Trpoical and just have one or two leaves each.  I'm not sure what to do next tho.  The medium I have them in (runny peat) would just swallow them up if I dumped the thing out.  I think I may be getting some algae in there so they may need to be moved pronto.  What do I do?
confused.gif

Oh, BTW: I can't post a picture yet BCS they're in a jar so I can't get close to them and I can't zoom in far enuf with a DC (i'll post some pics asap, that is, if they don't die).

Hey Gafato,

I'm not an expert, but mine are also in a jar and doing pretty well. I've got them in a small round goldfish bowl, about 3-5" inches. They're in two inches of water, and 1/4" peat at the bottom with a pinch of sand thrown in. Maybe put a little less water since you have little ones, just so some of the plant can touch the peat.

ugibba.jpg

Yeah, but I think they'll end up crowding each other. I'd like to get them somewhere where they can be a little more maneagable. BTW they're Longifolia. What are urs Thistle? They look aquatic.
confused.gif

In my fairly limited experience growing utrics from seed, I've found that they grow very slowly at first. You will need to put them on a peat or sphagnum substrate.