What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Genlisea margaretae

Hi, finally I have flowers from my plant of G.margaretae and as I have never seen pics from this plants on the web and it is such a beauty I am sharing mine here. Hope you like it.

G.margaretae-MWelge-1.jpg

G.margaretae-MWelge-2.jpg

WOW! those ARE beautiful. I have never seen these flowering before. I think I found yet another plant I will have to get... Can I upload and share your pics?
As a relative newbie, I must ask: how difficult is Genlisea to grow and find?

Neat! I just got a little G. hispidula seedling recently... it's still a long way from flowers! I've never seen a close-up picture, so thanks for sharing! All the photos I've come across are pics of the entire plant in flower, so it looks like a little white or pink smudge connected to a little green circle by a long stem... not as interesting as your pics. The Savage Garden doesn't even picture the flowers!
CP30, I've seen Genlisea for sale at California Carnivores. I got mine from a generous forum member here with a SASE of Drosera gemmae. They don't seem particularly hard; my little seedling is doing alright, despite a recent aphid outbreak, under one two-foot forty-watt grow bulb (there are four four-foot bulbs on the shelf above that provide a little extra light, but there's a lot of stuff on that shelf so it's very indirect.) I'm going to move it to higher light soon, once it seems established. I think they have some of the neatest traps out there (although it is a bit of a challenge to grow them so you can see the traps.)
~Joe

beautiful flowers Sebastian!!