What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What the heck!

Hello! I'm pretty new to VFTS but I'm definitely intrigued! I bought a octagon shaped aquarium at wal-mart and a couple plants down at the local nursery recently. I used perlite on the bottom and moss on the top. I live in an Air Force Base dorm so our windows are pretty much blacked out during the day so I bought a aquarium light bulb that is supposed to encourage plant growth in aquariums. Will this be adequate for a light source in my terrarium?

I've had them for about 1-2 months and they seem to be doing fine except on one of my plants recently one of my traps seems like it's opened too far! It's not black or anything it's just like it's way too open. The other plant also had a trap/leaf turn black so I pinched it off. I don't know if it's normal for it to die off occasionally or not.

Oh also, I live in San Antonio. However it usually stays around 70-80 degrees in my room at all times. The bulb in my terrarium only slightly warms the temperature on the inside.

Please help!! Any info would be greatly appreciated!

VFT's really dont care about temps and humidity as long as you dont freeze them. Don't worry about the trap that open to far, its prolly just exspired. VFT traps only close about 5 or 6 times before they exspire and either die off or open WAY up and become a leaf. Do you have any specs on the bulb your useing?

-Rail

Also, VFT's don't like still air. They prefer to have some level of wind on them at all times. If your aquarium has a few big holes on top and you have a fan on in your room, you should be fine.

-Rail

[b said:
Quote[/b] ]I used perlite on the bottom and moss on the top.