What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

A total newbie question! :D

I'm entirely new to growing and caring for these little buggers, so I've got some potentially idiotic questions. I thank you in advance for tolerating!!!

I'm hittin' the ground running, I've got a 3 year old plant on the way, and I'm growing my own. I've got this little seedling... And it totally doesn't look like I expected. It's got a white-ish stem shooting straight up from the middle, it's just short of an inch high. The stem has about two dozen white stems branching out from it. I can't find a whole lot on caring for little tiny VFT, so I'm unsure if this should be left or removed.

In fact, ANY and ALL insight you have with tips for seedlings would be wonderful of you. I've researched my butt off and I know plenty about mature flytraps, but.. next to nothing about immature traps.

Hi and welcome to TerraForums! Is it possible for you to post a picture? Last year I bought a Lowes 3 in 1 cube that appeared to have one plant in it. So I asked for and received a discount, because it seemed as though the other two plants had died. I went to repot the Cobra Lily that was obviously alive and then discovered that I in fact DID have all 3 plants - a D. adelae and a VFT. Both of then somehow were buried under the soil media and they were - White! So what you're describing, maybe a severe lack of light. Not sure.

Here is the picture of the Cobra Lily:

th_AF003601.jpg

And here is that same D. adelae, in much better health!

th_AF001001.jpg

2 dozen whitish stems from a single CP that is one inch tall doesn't sound like a VFT, though. Where did you receive this plant? Was it from Home Depot or Lowes or an online store? Did it come with a scientific name?