What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Please help a total newbie with VFT's

vraev

Carnivorous plant enthusiast
Admin
Hello fellow experienced CP growers,

I am a 20 yr old university student from canada. Last year, I went to a local rona lansing and found the reputed VFT. The entire crate was in pretty bad shape. But I still bought one for 6$.A week later, I returned it since, after researching, I basically found it was too much effort and just returned it.

Now, 2 days ago, I saw a new batch of VFT at the local square one WALMART. I especially found a very attractive, healthy one. I had to give it another shot.  
smile_m_32.gif

Now here starts the questioning:

- Here are a couple of pics I took of the plant. Please note that "FOR THE MOMENT, till Sept 4th, the plant is in my home which is normally at a standard 22 degrees celcius, at a table which is around 12 ft away from the window.

1) Knowing my house, there WILL NOT be too many bugs near the plant. With my last attempt, I emailed to a person who had lot of experience with CP's. She helped me with suggestions and then said that "Do not worry if your VFT doesn't get any bugs. The plant can photosynthesize and won't die."
-- after sept 4th, it will be with me in university room where the temp again will be around 20 celcius. Again, there mght be small fruit flies and ladybirds (from last year's uni experience), but not too much

Now, the traps started going yellow after I got it. I am again skeptical whether its normal or not. Is my VFT dying already?? (???)

2) The main questions are these:

I have some plans for a little VfT terrarium at uni.
Which of these would you recommend:
1) http://exoticgardens.zoovy.com/product/TERRFLYTRAPKIT
terrariumfinishedee6.gif