What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Carnivorous Creations kit by dunecraft

disco

aqua teen hunger force assemble!!
ok so i bought this kit by dunecraft called carnivorous creations and it comes with sarracenia, dionaea, darlingtonia, and drosera. it also provides the soil and terrarium with lid i mixed the soil with some distilled water and sprinkled the seeds on top as it said in the instructions. and the last step was to place it in the fridge for 8 weeks.....i have never grown any CPs by seed this is my first attempt does this sound correct to yall input would be appreciated!!!!!!

All I have to say is good luck! I would not waste my money on one of those kits.The germination rate will be low depending on how old the seed is.Anyway,good luck!

Jerry

I got one of those for my birthday a couple years ago (Sept). I didn't start stratifying until about this time last year and I only left it in for 5 weeks. I had done a little reading most of which said to stratify for 4-5 weeks.

I also sprinkled a cup of boiling water as suggested by the instructions after taking them out of the fridge.

Only one Sarracenia seed germinated. Since the seeds were mixed I have no idea what species it is.

What I would do differently if I did it all over:

1) Put the seeds in cold storage until I was ready to stratify them. VFT and sundew seeds decline in viability rapidly unless stored cold.
2) Partially covered the container in the fridge (instructions say leave uncovered). It dries out too much.
3) Skip the hot water treatment - top watering will bury the seeds - not good as too much moisture will kill the seeds
4) Use a spray bottle sparingly - and carefully top water on the sides of container only (see above)