What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New to CP's, need advice

Hello,

I am new to CP's and to plants in general. I run a custom shop and build custom cars and trucks, so this is a stretch for me, but something that I am eager to learn about. I have read and researched these plants extensively, but I still have a few questions.

I ordered an Akai Ryu red dragon vft and a Scarlet Belle pitcher plant online on the recommendation of a friend who grows exotic peppers and has had good experiences with this vendor in the past. Being new to this, I figured I would have a better chance of success with an established plant than starting from seeds. I plan to plant both plants in a large rectangular pot and grow them in a window in my home. I have the means to keep them very humid, so I don't think a terrarium is necessary (correct me if I'm wrong). My questions are:

Does the pitcher require a dark period every year like the vft, or will I have to separate them?

All the research I have done indicates that these two plants should coexist happily, is there anything about keeping them together I should look out for? Or should I just leave them in seperate pots?

I want to eventually allow to vft to flower so that I can harvest some seeds and start some new plants, but I have read that letting them flower can use up valuable energy and be detrimental to the plant, is there any way around this?

When I receive the plants, is there any way to tell whether they've been through their dormant stage for the year, or should I assume they need to be dormant over the winter?