What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Newbie here, I live in Phoenix, AZ...can I grow outdoors?

So I've done some researching about temp/humidity and so far I've found that VFTs are good in 100% so that's not an issue. But I found that humidity should be 50%ish.

It's about 10% here for the next couple months (until monsoon season woohoo!)

So with this rather low humidity, is it possible to grow these guys outside? I was thinking puting a pot in a large tub and just filling the tub with water....

Or maybe get creative and find some kind of clear plastic and make a long open-ended cylinder to attach to the top of the pot....if you can picture that (don't want to use a full cover, it would overheat)

What do ya think?

Hiya! Welcome to TF! :wave:

I think it's possible. We have some desert growers here, including the Admin of Terraforums. Even if you didn't use a full cover for the cylinder, it would still most likely overheat. Humidity isn't that much of a problem, but it helps.

I hear the biggest problem is drying out and the top of the soil getting too hot. If you water it enough, it should be fine.

Keep them in a water tray and don't worry about air humidity...they won't care much about it.
Many growers on this forum are growing them in low humidity and the only people that care about air humidity for VFT are usualy the beginners...it's normal to care too much when you have only a few i guess.