What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Some recent pictures of my surviving VFTs.

My Dente is all but gone, there's a 1MM sized trap on a tiny little thing which I placed inside a container just now, but, yeah. My Akai Ryu is completely gone, AND there were bugs in the soil. I really, really need to find a local source for a safe pesticide. I plan on re-purchasing them in a few days.

B52 (Inside plant)
b52-a.jpg

b52-a2.jpg

B52 (Outside plant)
b52-b.jpg

b52-b2.jpg

I repotted my B52 outside and split it in 2 while I was out there. I brought half of the plant back in. This is my first time splitting a plant, so I'm a bit hesitant.

Red Piranha:
red-piranha.jpg

The Red Piranha is really starting to take off. It's not as red as I would like, however, the grow lights are enough to make it moderately happy but it's just not quite enough. It's too small to go outside, however.

"Gold Strike"
goldstrike.jpg

goldstrike2.jpg

This little dude isn't happy, I don't know why. 3 of it's traps turned pitch black, I trimmed 2 of those stems off and left 1. It may have gotten some tap water spilled on it, I flushed the pot quite extensively but it may still need work. I may also need to repot it, it was in the same area as the Dente and Akai Ryu (read: bugs of some kind in the soil).

Ideally it'll be ready to move outside permanently by next spring, we'll see, however.

I thought people were joking about Drosera capensis being a weed, btw. Either D. capensis or Pygmy Gemmaes got in like every single one of my pots, it's nuts.

Other random pictures:

My Nep. ventricosa (ventrata?) (it's from a lowes deathcube):
babynep.jpg

My Nep has a baby plant coming up from it's base.

S. Leucophylla 'Titan':
leucophylla-titan.jpg