What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

B52 characteristics (outside banding)

It's an odd coincidence that I'm posting twice today about two different kinds of banding today.

This one is about B52, and has me kind of confused:

I received a B52 from tissue culture from David Conner, which came in a "clump" of two plants sharing a rhizome and were in the process of dividing. I've been growing it for about 4 months now.

The "parent" B52 has no external banding on the outside of the traps (last attachment), although there's a hint of it on the right side if you look closely. The smaller plant has *very* pronounced red banding on the outside of every single trap its produced (first two attachments). I have not yet divided the rhizomes but there are two distinct growth points. I checked the growth points twice to confirm the banding was only on one plant.

What gives? Is it due to the age of the plant?

Are B52's known for such red banding? I have a B52 outdoors that doesn't have banding either.

a localized mutation? you said from TC---there could have been a kink or a recombination event that caused the banding during the replication process. they should do a fly-trap genome project.

Red banding like that is quite common with that cultivar and many -- if not all -- of my B52 plants exhibit that, especially in Summer. It's also a function of the age of the plant, its exposure to light, and even the season. It has nothing to do with any tissue culture practice, since more than a few -- non-TC -- plants that I have came from original von Schmeling "B52" divisions and exhibit that same banding in bright light. Given enough time and sun, most will eventually have that feature, to a greater or lesser degree . . .