What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New To VTF Care... Questions and pictures :)

Ok! Hello everyone! I'm brand new to owning VTFs and I need some help :).

Ive been reading and i understand the basics of care for VTF but one thing that evades me is how to clip them in order to grow new plants(clones?). Is there a video or picture tutorial showing how to properly extract whatever is needed to grow a new plant?

Also how often should I supplement the plants "diet" with fresh insects?

And finallywhats the best way to re-pot a VTF? Its in a very small pot now(as you"ll see with the pictures) and i want to move it to something bigger so i can keep it communally with a few other VTFs.

Pics!
DSC00484.jpg

DSC00483.jpg

DSC00482.jpg

DSC00481.jpg

DSC00486.jpg

Hope you enjoy the pics. Any and all comments and tips are welcomed :)

Cheers
-Phil.

---------- Post added at 07:13 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:12 PM ----------

Sorry for sideways pics :S

Cheers
-Phil.

Looks like you have a fwe plants there, you could always divide it to propagate the plant. Alternatively you can pull a few leaves from the plant, making sure to get atleast some of the white rhizome at the base of the plant. Then put the leaves in some moist LFS in a pot under a plastic baggie and in a few weeks to a month there should be plantlets starting to form at the base.

I would encourage you to give it the most amount of light as possible and perhaps a larger pot. The plants are fully capable of catching prey on their own; alternatively, you can capture some crawling insects from time to time and feed the creepy plant . . .

Thanks for the quick replies!