What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Propagating with the flower stalk

This is my first attempt at doing this, does it look alright? Its about 1/4 inch into the soil and its under T8s... Thanks

1hotms.jpg

I've done this several times in the outdoor pots. I always get good strike rates. I'll take some pics of some one-year-olds and post them.

I'm also trying this out on some D. binata multifida extrema this year.... wonder if it'll work?

I've done this several times in the outdoor pots. I always get good strike rates. I'll take some pics of some one-year-olds and post them.

I'm also trying this out on some D. binata multifida extrema this year.... wonder if it'll work?

003-8.jpg

Very cool, Jim. Thanks for sharing.

As promised, here are a few one year old flytraps I got from sticking cut flower stalks directly into the soil. They were all grown outside and went through dormancy. I did nothing special.

P4240004.jpg

P4240008.jpg

I hope mine turns out that way, it looks like I'll have 3 other plants to try with. How long does it take to start to see new plants? Did you get more than one plant from one stalk?

I don't think I got more than one plant per stalk.
I also wasn't very attentive in noticing how long they took to show new growth. I know it was several weeks later and before the upper half of the stalk turned black.

Do you all cut the whole main flower stalk (with all the flowers) and bury it? Or just one flower, with its stalk? TIA!