What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New Leaves

K

Kevention

I am new to the VFT, I jsut got the plant from petflytrap and noticed that the new heads that are growing are red with black coloring around the edges, is this an infection or disease, what can I do to prevent this. I live in Southern California and I keep it in indirect light and it is a green dragon plant. Help please I want this plant to grow much more.

Could you give a little more detail of it's conditions. That would help figuring out what it is. Light, how much. In terrarium or outside or window sill. Day temps. Water, how much what kind top or bottom. Are the traps taht are turning black fully developed or are they still curled up? All of this will help people answer your questions better. Oh, also did it have any recent dramatic changes. Like repotting, shiping stress, light changes?

These are the details I can give, Yes the dramatic changes are the shipping to my house. The new leaves are black and curled and do not look like they are going to develop. i live in southern California wehre the temperatures now are around 70-85, I keep it in light but not direct like the window sil, the sun doesnt shine directly into my room. It is potted in the same mix it came with from petflytrap.com. I watered it once when i got as the isntrcutions stated. I read somewhere not to water it to much so the roots wont ront and the mix is still moist to the touch. The are living in the pot it came with.

Thanks for the response