What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Im kind of new to this, wanting to set up a tank

What I am wanting to do is set up a 10 gallon tank and plant a couple of traps, a couple pitcher plants and maybe a butterfly lilly. I have just been getting the ones at lows for like 2.99 each, there kinda sickly but the price is right.

Anyways I have figured out what I want to do but Im kinda debateing the lightsource. Some People tell me I can get a regular light for the aquarium that you screw 2 plant bulbs into and your set. Others say I need a special light which costs double.

I live in Southern Ohio and while granted it is summer time I can't always keep watch on it outside. I left it out about 5 hours yesterday and 2 of one of my flytraps traps has started turning black. At this moment I have 1 venus flytrap in a miniture pot, and the other has a cobra lilly,butterfly plant, and venus fly trap. The other is the one that seems to have taken the damage. The flytrap in the pot by itself is really small (traps are so small I bet a ant couldn't fit in them).

Anybody have any suggestions for me?

Well looks like nobody cares to reply to this topic. Guess I will just go the cheap route and hope for the best.

you should post your question again, but post it in the General Discussions Forum.
wink.gif