What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Worried

• Thread starter Enrapture
  • Start date
  • Tags
    vft
E

Enrapture

So I'm new at all this.  I bought this little vft at a gift shop and now I'm afraid I'm going to kill it.
The general instuctions said that if the plant starts to turn black to put it into the refrigerator for a couple months.
It started turning black and I have done just that.  Now not only is the plant turning black but it appears to be wilting.  I'm wondering if there's something else I should be doing.
Any suggestions or explanations?
Thanks.

Ouch!

First, don't panic. Second, how much of the plant turned black? If it was just a few traps/leaves that is normal, as the leaves get older they die, just like any other plant. Cut them off.

I personally would take it out of the fridge immediately. Putting it in the fridge is forcing it to go dormant and this is probably not neccesary at this time. Most places that supply plants like this to gift shops don't give accurate care instructions, and often if you follow the instructions on the label you are sure to kill the plant. Throw out the label that came with the plant and go to the link below.

Good Luck.

VFT Care

Oh, and welcome to the forums!

good advice, follow the care instructions from the link that Maehem gave you.
A couple of basic pointers.
Do not give it tap water.
Give it only rain, distilled or ro water. nothing else.
Give it plenty of sunlight and keep it wet.
Read over the link for more indepth instructions.
Also read over the forums for some great advice.

Thank you for all the help.
smile.gif

Do I just cut off the trap or the whole leaf?
I've added a link to some pics so you can see what's up w/ the plant.
VFTs

alien.gif