What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Growing VFT's outside ( in Indiana )

V

vzn05mf9

I am new to growing VFT's and would very much like to compliment my flower island outside with some; however, I cannot seem to find any advice or growing tips on how to best go about doing this. I live in Northern Indiana and the plants would be in full sun outside. I have them in there own pots with a mixture of Sphagnum moss, Peat moss, and Sand and was planning on setting them in the ground in their own pots so that I can pull them out of the ground in the winter if I have to, although, I was wondering too if covering them would be enough protection. Also, how necessary is it to really follow the use only rainwater or distilled water rule to watering VFT's?  Any advice on getting my VFT's to grow outside is much appreciated.

Thanks!
Craig

I moved this to the Venus Flytrap topic.

You are sure to get a lot of advice.

WELCOME!!!
biggrin.gif

I had a grandma that lived in Indiana
smile.gif
its a very pretty state from what I seen. Your vfts should be fine outside its perfect weather for them there just remember that the roots need to stay damp at all times and never dry out. I might suggest a drainless pot since it will be in the ground with no water tray. You may also want to give them a partly shaded spot incase you have a realy hot day so they don't get scorched.

Hey Vzmahslhadsfaosihdtapihasdlajshetaosfrapioe
biggrin.gif

WELCOME!!!!

I am glad that you found us. I hope you enjoy the forums and all they have to offer and that you come visit on a regular basis!

Answers to your questions:

1) Water. This is a touchy subject that will draw many opinions out. I will offer you what we do here and my thoughts about it.