What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Traps close, but open quickly

• Thread starter roswell1329
  • Start date
  • Tags
    insect vft
R

roswell1329

I'm very new to CP gardening, and I just purchased a VFT for my office to have something small but nice to look at. I've had it for about three days and I've done everything I can to make it's environment a happy one. I do have 2 questions, though:

1. When the instruction sheets say to "feed 2-3 times a month", does that mean feed the plant as a whole only 2-3 times a month, or feed each trap 2-3 times a month?

2. I just fed my trap yesterday for the first time, and the trap head closed nicely on a small winged thing I thwapped on the head. Today, however, the trap head is open again (slightly), and the insect seems no worse for wear. Is this the VFT's way of telling me, "That tastes TERRIBLE!" ? Do VFT's have insect preferences?

Most troubled,
Roswell.

If the insect is not alive, then sometimes the trap will reopen.  The trigger hairs inside the trap need to be repeatedly stimulated otherwise it will think it has trapped some kind of debris and reopen.  Hope this helps.

A once a month feeding schedule is appropriate. Make sure the insect is at least 1/3 the size of the trap or less. Other wise, it might rot!

Thanks for the reply. Just to clarify, I need to feed the entire plant just once a month, or each trap head on the plant once a month?

One trap, one insect, once a month.  The trap will send the nutrients to the whole plant.

It would be more fun if you could feed it more often, but resist the urge!!!
wink.gif
tounge.gif