What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

are there symptoms of dormancy?

J

jamieanne

i am new to the fly trap hobby, and i live in sydney australia, so the fly trap's dormancy period is opposite of the united states'.  the temperatures have lowered now that it is autumn, with night-time lows around 55-60.  i currently keep my plant outside in its pot with natural sunlight.

it has been doing really well, despite being picked on a couple times by some curious birds.  since the colder weather, a lot of the traps and leaves have turned black.  i have trimmed these off, and i wonder if this is a sign that it needs it's dormancy period?

i don't know what type of soil it's in, but i have not transferred it to any other soil since i got it two months ago from the nursery.  it's sitting in a small tray with a constant supply of water in the tray.

since i live in australia, i heard this is good weather for the fly trap and i might not need to put it in the refrigerator for its dormancy.  what do you think?

could i get some opinions on all of this, i don't want the fly trap to die - i've grown attached to it!  i feel so dumb and embarrassed not knowing what i'm doing, but this topic is hard to find information on....

thanks for your help!

This sounds like the plant is going dormant. I think you should be able to keep it outside, but I am not certain. If it is a single specimen that you are afraid to lose, better to go with the fridge method I think. I have a friend in Australia that can help you with questions:

donovanperret79@hotmail.com

Please tell him Tamlin sends his regards!