What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Is sand really necessary in soil mix?

I've been growing VFTs for "gosh" 34 years now and I've never used any sand in my soil mix...just good old 100% peat moss. I tried some sand mixes years ago which resulted in sick plants. I know, the sand was probably contaminted and/or alkaline. Thats why I stuck with plain peat moss all these years. Anyway, is there truly a difference in plant vitality when the proper sand is used? My plants have been pretty healthy without it. I've got two plants on my porch now with 5" leaves and quarter size traps that haven't seen a grain of sand in years. In all seriousness, it's never too late to teach an old dog new tricks....does sand in the mix improve VFT growth and development? And, how about perlite as a substitute for sand? Keep in mind..not everyone has access to clean, non-alkaline sand.

Peat is perfectly acceptable as a pure medium I think, especially if you go for the coarser bits of it. I use very little sand or perlite in my Dionaea culture, but I do use live LFS along with the peat, and a little sand. Maybe its all in my head, but the plants seem to grow better with that addition, and the fiberous quality allows for the root ball to pop right out, making transplants very effortless. I rarely use perlite as an additive to anything, but it would probably be fine. I would suggest you rinse it first though.

Finally, silica sand can be had usually from swimming supply concerns, or those selling jacuzi's where it is used for filtration. I couldn't live without it!