What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hello, I have been growing carnivorous plants for a while now, it was probably 40 years ago when I lost my first Venus flytrap because I was a kid and didn't know they needed a dormancy, our hard tap water probably didn't help either.

I'm gonna guess I have been growing nepenthes for 10 years now, I started growing them about a year before Fredrik Meijer Gardens (here in Mi.) opened up the carnivorous room and I got to meet Peter D'Amato from savage gardens and got my first nepenthes Rokko plant. I still have a cutting growing from that same plant.

Now I want to take it to the next level and try seed propagation (I got bored of cuttings) I just purchased a couple of nepenthes Belli last week. Problem is I just figured out both plants are probably cuttings from the same parent and will be the same sex :-( in fact I have a feeling I might have a hard time finding a male & female nepenthes Bellii. I want to grow smaller nepenthes that will grow in a 55 gallon tank as Michigan winters are very dry (furnaces tend to try out the house) I have a few other small nepenthes lined up that I would like to play with.

Anyways, I like what I see & read here, good stuff.
Dan

Welcome!

Shoot me a PM or email Dan. I live just outside of MSU..

welcome! i currently live in grand rapids, and have volunteered at frederik meijer gardens many times!

welcome! i currently live in grand rapids, and have volunteered at frederik meijer gardens many times!